Sioux County Planning Commission

Harrison, Nebraska Minutes of the Meeting of April 30, 2025

A meeting of the Sioux County Planning Commission was held on April 30, 2025 at the Sioux County Courthouse at 4:20 p.m. Board members present were Jim Phipps, Jebb Ginkens, LeAnne Skavdahl and Jim Skavdahl. Also attending the meeting was Michelle Zimmerman, Zoning Administrator.

Recorded exemption #2025-5 submitted by Cheryl Averill and Deborah Courtney/A&C Farms to split 4.43 acres from an existing parcel of 77 acres in Section 28, Township 24, Range 57 was reviewed. Upon a motion by Phipps, seconded by J. Skavdahl, the exemption was approved. On roll call vote, Phipps, yes; Ginkens, yes; L. Skavdahl, yes; J. Skavdahl, yes. Motion carried.

Discussion was held on the current moratorium for renewable resources that was implemented at the November 20, 2024 meeting. Solar regulations are being reviewed with the county attorney's office. Motion made by Ginkens, seconded by Jim Phipps to extend the moratorium on all renewable resources for an additional 6 months. On roll call vote, J. Skavdahl, yes; L. Skavdahl, yes; Ginkens, yes; Phipps, yes. Motion carried.

Solid waste disposal site and facility regulations were discussed. The current zoning regulations do not address the issue. Motion made by Jim Phipps, seconded by Jim Skavdahl to place a six month moratorium on solid waste disposal sites and facilities, while regulations are reviewed. On roll call vote, L. Skavdahl, yes; Phipps, yes; Ginkens, yes; J. Skavdahl, yes. Motion carried.

A resolution extending the moratoriums will be presented to the County Commissioners at the May 1 commissioner meeting.

There being no further business before the board, the meeting was adjourned at 4:45 p.m.

Michelle J. Zimmerman, Zoning Administrator